Joe Cooper wins the 2016 Tour of Gippsland

Joe Cooper has won the 2016 Australian Paper Tour of Gippsland and back to back National Road Series rounds leading home an incredible clean sweep of the top four general classification positions by Avanti Isowhey Sports team with Pat Shaw, Patrick Lane and Sam Crome finishing behind Cooper.

Cooper set up the Tour of Gippsland win with a solo break on toughest and penultimate stage of the tour winning stage 4 by over a minute with only the final stage criterium remaining.

Scott Law (Subaru NSWIS & MS) and Cyrus Monk (Pat’s Veg Cycling) stood out from the rest of the field with Law winning the opening stage, and then won the final stage yesterday to win the overall sprint classification. Cyrus Monk had a strong tour for fifth place splitting the top five Avanti Isowhey Sports riders.

Thursday and Friday’s stages saw the tour lead change twice as Pat Shaw won the Paynesville to Metung stage 2 and take over the lead, then Patrick Lane won the Sale to Port Albert stage 3 to take the leaders jersey from teammate, Shaw.

[adrotate banner=”73″]

Avanti Isowhey Sports won the team classification from Pat’s Veg Cycling then State of Matter Maap. Avanti Isowhey Sports have all but wrapped up the overall 2016 teams title.

In the race for the overall 2016 National Road Series title Pat Shaw still leads with three rounds remaining, Joseph Cooper has closed the gap after the Tour of Gippsland win and behind sit teammates Crome and Lane.

Results of the 2016 Australian Paper Tour of Gippsland

ResultRider (Team)Result
1Joseph COOPER (Avanti IsoWhey Sports)10h32:24
2Patrick SHAW (Avanti IsoWhey Sports)+1:05
3Patrick LANE (Avanti IsoWhey Sports)+1:10
4Sam CROME (Avanti IsoWhey Sports)+1:22
5Cyrus MONK (Pat’s Veg Cycling)+1:29
6Robbie HUCKER (Avanti IsoWhey Sports)+1:30
7Mathew ROSS (Pat’s Veg Cycling)+1:30
8Angus LYONS (Jayco/John West VIS)+1:30
9Harry CARPENTER (SASI/Callidus Cycling Team)+1:31
10Alex WEST (mobius Future Racing)+1:31

Team Results of the 2016 Australian Paper Tour of Gippsland

1Avanti IsoWhey Sports31h40:26
2Pat’s Veg Cycling+1:22
3State of Matter / Maap+6:07
4mobius Future Racing+6:14
5Subaru NSWIS & MS+18:08
6SASI/Callidus Cycling Team+22:38
7Oliver’s Real Food Racing+27:01
8Jayco/John West VIS+33:24
9GPM Stulz+36:39
10JML Racing+37:13
11Satalyst Verve Racing+49:07
12SwissWellness Cycling Team+1h04:28
13TIS Racing Team+1h19:02

The next round of the men’s 2016 Subaru National Road Series is the 4 stage National Capital Tour from the 16th to 18th September, the Women’s National Road series resumes this weekend with the Amy’s Otway Tour.

Race report by TBL – The Bike Lane

Main image via Andrew Gooding/GTR Events and Cycling Australia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here