Vincenzo Nibali (Astana Pro Team) made amends for a disappointing ride in the Pyrenees with an attacking ride to win the stage finishing at La Toussuire. Nibali attacked the yellow jersey group with 62km to go as Chris Froome momentarily stopped to clear a stone from his brakes. Nibali caught lone leader Pierre Rolland (Team Europcar) and then leaped away on the final climb to La Toussuire.

While Vincenzo Nibali was up the road racing to the stage win Nairo Quintana was attacking Chris Froome as Froome was again isolated from his Sky Team, Sky had earlier dropped a number of riders including Richie Porte on the wet ascent of the Col du Chaussy,they re-grouped on the flat run to the Croix de Fer. Quintana finished second on the stage gaining 30 seconds back on the lead of Chris Froome to now sit 2:38 behind in second overall.

Geraint Thomas lost 22 minutes to the leaders to drop right out of podium contention, Alberto Contador, Alejandro Valverde and Robert Gesink all finished in the same group at 2:26 behind Nibali. Nibali has moved up to fourth place 1:19 behind Valverde. Romain Bardet took over the lead in the mountains classification while Peter Sagan still leads the points classification

Watch video highlights below and a quick twitter clip showing the moment Italian Champion Vincenzo Nibali takes off as Froome is in trouble.

Nibali is getting a lot of flak for attacking when he did but when I see the video, Nibali’s comments and Froome’s comment I can’t help but recall the quote from Nathan Haas a week ago “It is the Tour de France, man. We are not here to lick stamps”

Vincenzo Nibali attacked solo to win the stage
Vincenzo Nibali attacked solo to win the stage © ASO/B.Bade
Nairo Quintana gained 30 seconds back on Chris Froome with a late stage attack
Nairo Quintana gained 30 seconds back on Chris Froome with a late stage attack © ASO/P.Perreve
Alejandro Valverde lost time to Vincenzo Nibali but still remains in third place
Alejandro Valverde lost time to Vincenzo Nibali but still remains in third place © ASO/B.Bade
The skies opened up on the Col de Chaussy
The skies opened up on the Col de Chaussy

Stage 19 Video Highlights

Summary – Stage 19 (Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne… by tourdefrance_en


Top 50 Stage 19 Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne – La Touissure 138km

PlaceRider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team4:22:53
2Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team0:00:44
3Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky0:01:14
4Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr0:02:26
5Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
6Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team
7Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing
8Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
9Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo
10Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team
11Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar0:02:35
12Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:04:17
13Ruben Plaza Molina (Spa) Lampre-Merida0:04:53
14Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling0:05:02
15Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo
16Wouter Poels (Ned) Team Sky0:06:23
17Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo0:08:05
18Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team
19Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar
20Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
21Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka0:09:52
22José Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team0:10:53
23Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:11:41
24Jan Barta (Cze) Bora-Argon 18
25Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
26Merhawi Kudus Ghebremedhin (Eri) MTN – Qhubeka
27Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement0:12:53
28Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team0:13:03
29Romain Sicard (Fra) Team Europcar0:13:55
30Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin0:15:02
31Stef Clement (Ned) IAM Cycling0:15:12
32Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling
33Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) MTN – Qhubeka
34Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling
35Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing0:21:13
36Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team
37Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:22:00
38Michael Rogers (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo
39Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto Soudal
40Reto Hollenstein (Swi) IAM Cycling
41Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement
42Paul Voss (Ger) Bora-Argon 18
43Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team
44Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team
45Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
46Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team
47Rafael Valls Ferri (Spa) Lampre-Merida
48Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar
49Angelo Tulik (Fra) Team Europcar
50Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha

Top 20 General Classification Tour de France after Stage 19

PlaceRider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky78:37:34
2Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team0:02:38
3Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team0:05:25
4Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:06:44
5Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo0:07:56
6Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:08:55
7Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling0:12:39
8Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing0:13:22
9Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:14:08
10Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar0:17:27
11Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:18:25
12Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team0:19:27
13Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka0:26:48
14Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin0:27:00
15Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky0:27:24
16Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr0:40:40
17Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo0:57:49
18Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:59:26
19Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling0:59:42
20Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale1:12:21

The final mountain stage is short at only 110.5km so we should see some explosive racing on what is the last real stage of the 2015 Tour de France, stage 20 starts with a downhill run to the base of the HC Col de la Croix de Fer, after that climb there is a flat run to the famous Alpe d’Huez.

Stage 20 Modane Valfrejus to Alpe d'Huez 110.5km
Stage 20 Modane Valfrejus to Alpe d’Huez 110.5km

Tour de France Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here