Stage 4 winner Tony Martin

Tony Martin made a late breakaway to win Stage 4, the longest stage of this years Tour de France and grabbed a well deserved yellow jersey, the stage looked like heading for a bunch finish with John Degenkolb, Peter Sagan and Greg Van Avermaet all in the bunch of 35 riders heading to the finish. Tony Martin was having none of that and attacked the group with less than 4km to go and was too strong for the chasing bunch, crossing the line with 3 seconds in hand and grabbing bonus seconds to now lead the Tour de France by 12 seconds from Chris Froome. Tony Martin finished the race on teammate Matteo Trentin’s bike after puncturing with 13km to go in the stage.

The bunch sprint for second was won by John Degenkolb, with Peter Sagan third and Greg Van Avermaet fourth.

In the general classification Tony Martin now leads by 12 seconds from Chris Froome, the rest of the GC favourites remain at the same time gaps as yesterday with Tejay van Garderen, Alberto Contador, Vincenzo Nibali and Nairo Quintana all finishing in the lead group.

Tony MArtin in the yellow jersey
Tony Martin finally wears the yellow jersey after several near misses © ASO B.Bade
Team Sky protecting Chris Froome
Team Sky protecting Chris Froome
Stage 4 included several pave sectors.
Stage 4 included several pave sectors.

Finishing together at the back of the final bunch nearly 17 minutes back from Tony Martin would have been pleasing for Greg Henderson, Michael Matthews and Adam Hansen who have suffered huge crashes on stage 2 and 3. Before the stage Henderson was doubting whether he could make it through the stage. Take a look at the pictures and tweets below. is live for stage 3 check it out. #BeardysCaravan #tdf #tdf2015

A photo posted by Beardy McBeard (@beardmcbeardy) on


Tour de France Stage 4 – Top 40

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,Tony Martin (Ger) Etixx – Quick-Step,5:28:58
2,John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:00:03
3,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,
4,Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team,
5,Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) MTN – Qhubeka,
6,”Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits”,
7,Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Team Katusha,
8,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,
9,Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step,
10,Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar,
11,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,
12,Mark Cavendish (GBr) Etixx – Quick-Step,
13,Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step,
14,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,
15,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,
16,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,
17,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,
18,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,
19,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,
20,Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha,
21,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,
22,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,
23,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,
24,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,
25,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,
26,Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,
27,”Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits”,
28,Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling,
29,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo,
30,Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team,
31,Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing Team,
32,Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale,
33,Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,
34,”Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits”,
35,Julien Vermote (Bel) Etixx – Quick-Step,
36,Angelo Tulik (Fra) Team Europcar,0:00:18
37,Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:00:43
38,Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida,0:00:51
39,Bram Tankink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,
40,Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Lotto Soudal,

Top 20 on General Classification after Stage 4 – Tour de France

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,Tony Martin (Ger) Etixx – Quick-Step,12:40:26
2,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,0:00:12
3,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,0:00:25
4,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,0:00:38
5,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:00:39
6,Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team,0:00:40
7,Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:00:46
8,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:00:48
9,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,0:01:15
10,Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:01:16
11,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:01:19
12,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,0:01:44
13,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,0:01:50
14,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:01:51
15,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:02:03
16,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,
17,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,0:02:08
18,Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha,0:02:12
19,Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:02:19
20,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:02:51

Tomorrow’s Stage 5 starts in Arras and finishes in Amiens covering 189.5km, it’s a stage that should finish with a bunch sprint.

Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here