Ruben Plaza (Lampre-Merida) won stage 16 into Gap solo after forcing the pace on the Col de Manse ascent, Plaza led over the top of the climb by a minute and held on to finish 12km later to win by 30 seconds from Peter Sagan who added to his tally of second places. Sagan through everything into the descent and gave a master class on descending but it wasn’t quite enough to win the stage. What may have ultimately cost Sagan the stage win was having to cover the early attacks on the Col de Manse, it was after Sagan closing one of the attacks that Plaza was able to counter attack and stay away.

The descent from Col de Manse has provided action each time it’s run and this year Geraint Thomas was fortunate to avoid serious injury after Warren Barguil colloided with him sending Thomas into a lamppost.

In the GC race the time gaps stayed mostly the same heading into the rest day with the exception of Vincenzo Nibali who once again displayed his descending skills to gain 28 seconds back on Froome and the others. Froome still leads by 3:10 from Quintana with Tejay van Garderen, Alejandro Valverde and Alberto Contador filling the top 5 places.

Stage 16 winner Ruben Plaza
Stage 16 winner Ruben Plaza © Presse Sports
Peter Sagan chased hard down to Gap but couldn't catch Plaza
Peter Sagan chased hard down to Gap but couldn’t catch Plaza © ASO/B.Bade
Leaders jersey wearers at the start of the stage. Nairo Quintana, Chris Froome, Joaquim Rodriguez and Peter Sagan
Leaders jersey wearers at the start of the stage. Nairo Quintana, Chris Froome, Joaquim Rodriguez and Peter Sagan


Top 50 Stage 16 Bourg-de-Péage – Gap 201km

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result,
1,Ruben Plaza Molina (Spa) Lampre-Merida,4:30:10,
2,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:00:30,
3,Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling,0:00:36,
4,Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:00:40,
5,Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing, ,
6,Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, ,
7,Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) MTN – Qhubeka,0:00:53,
8,Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal,0:01:00,
9,”Luis Angel Mate (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits”,0:01:22,
10,Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar, ,
11,Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement,0:01:54,
12,Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team, ,
13,Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka, ,
14,Michal Golas (Pol) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:01:55,
15,Imanol Erviti (Spa) Movistar Team,0:02:19,
16,Marco Haller (Aut) Team Katusha,0:02:40,
17,”Daniel Navarro (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits”,0:03:27,
18,Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto Soudal,0:04:07,
19,Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) MTN – Qhubeka,0:04:14,
20,Nelson Oliveira (Por) Lampre-Merida, ,
21,Pierre-Luc Perichon (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement,0:06:13,
22,Markel Irizar (Spa) Trek Factory Racing,0:07:09,
23,Matteo Trentin (Ita) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:08:44,
24,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,0:17:44,
25,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:18:12,
26,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing, ,
27,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, ,
28,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky, ,
29,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team, ,
30,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team, ,
31,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo, ,
32,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team, ,
33,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin, ,
34,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,0:18:50,
35,Wouter Poels (Ned) Team Sky, ,
36,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:19:09,
37,Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team, ,
38,Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar, ,
39,Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team, ,
40,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo, ,
41,Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling, ,
42,Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team, ,
43,Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team, ,
44,Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale, ,
45,Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, ,
46,Thibaut Pinot (Fra), ,
47,Jan Barta (Cze) Bora-Argon 18,0:21:05,
48,Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, ,
49,Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar,0:21:40,
50,Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Astana Pro Team, ,

Top 30 General Classification Tour de France after Stage 16

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result,
1,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,64:47:16,
2,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,0:03:10,
3,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,0:03:32,
4,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,0:04:02,
5,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:04:23,
6,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,0:05:32,
7,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:06:23,
8,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,0:07:49,
9,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,0:08:53,
10,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:11:03,
11,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,0:12:02,
12,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:13:10,
13,Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling,0:14:23,
14,Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team,0:15:18,
15,Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar,0:15:55,
16,Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling,0:17:04,
17,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:23:15,
18,Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka,0:24:18,
19,Thibaut Pinot (Fra),0:31:54,
20,Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:36:29,
21,Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team,0:38:43,
22,Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team,0:38:54,
23,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:39:34,
24,Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale,0:42:12,
25,Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:46:22,
26,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:47:46,
27,Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha,0:48:30,
28,Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Movistar Team,0:49:46,
29,Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:53:41,
30,Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Lotto Soudal,0:55:55,

Tomorrow is the second rest day of this years Tour de France then on Wednesday the riders start the first of four successive Alps mountain stages, each one getting progressively more difficult. First up on Stage 17 is Digne-les-Bains to Pra Loup which crosses the 2,250m Col d’Allos before finishing on the Pra Loup after 161km.

Profile Stage 17 Digne-les-Bains - Pra Loup 161km
Stage 17 Digne-les-Bains – Pra Loup 161km

Tour de France Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here