Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) won the stage to Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne solo after attacking on the descent of the Col du Glandon with 30km remaining to the finish including the category 2 climb of Lacets de Montvernier. Bardet held on to win by 33 seconds from Pierre Rolland (Team Europcar) to make it a 1-2 for France. Winner Anacona (Movistar Team) was third leading a bunch of four riders to the finish.

There was no change in the overall lead, Chris Froome still leads Nairo Quintana by 3:10 and Alejandro Valverde by 4:09 after a relatively uneventful stage save for some attacks on the Col du Glandon, the first 6 riders overall all finished in the same group. Time is running out for Nairo Quintana to reduce the lead of Chris Froome with only two mountain stages and summit finishes remaining in the 2015 Tour de France.

In the classifications Nairo Quintana still leads the young riders, Joaquim Rodríguez wears the polka dot jersey, Peter Sagan leads the points classification and Movistar lead the teams classification. Stage 18 video highlights below.

Winner Stage 18 Romain Bardet (Ag2r-La Mondiale)
Winner Stage 18 Romain Bardet (Ag2r-La Mondiale) © ASO/P.Perreve
Giant Alpecin riders Albert Timmer and John Degenkolb
Giant Alpecin riders Albert Timmer and John Degenkolb © ASO/B.Bade
Romain Bardet on Les Lacets de Montvernier
Romain Bardet on Les Lacets de Montvernier © ASO/G.Demouveaux

Video Highlights

Summary – Stage 18 (Gap > Saint-Jean-de… by tourdefrance_en


Top 50 Stage 18 Gap – Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne 186.5km

PlaceRider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale5:03:40
2Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar0:00:33
3Winner Anacona (Col) Movistar Team0:00:59
4Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing
5Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team
6Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka0:01:01
7Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar0:01:50
8Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team
9Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:01:55
10Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin0:03:02
11Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
12Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky
13Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team
14Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky
15Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo
16Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling
17Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
18Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team
19Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team
20Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team0:03:21
21Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing
22Ruben Plaza Molina (Spa) Lampre-Merida0:05:12
23Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo0:05:33
24Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team0:06:32
25Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:06:45
26Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Sky0:06:56
27Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN – Qhubeka0:08:00
28Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:08:32
29Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Movistar Team0:09:00
30Jan Barta (Cze) Bora-Argon 180:09:19
31Florian Vachon (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement
32Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar
33Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo0:09:22
34Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:11:03
35Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha0:14:26
36Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale0:14:51
37Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team
38Nelson Oliveira (Por) Lampre-Merida
39Pierre-Luc Perichon (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement0:15:41
40Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Sky
41Wouter Poels (Ned) Team Sky
42Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team0:16:05
43Stef Clement (Ned) IAM Cycling0:16:09
44Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr0:16:12
45Luis Angel Mate (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:16:56
46Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:17:11
47Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN – Qhubeka0:17:28
48Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:18:33
49Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC Racing Team0:18:44
50Georg Preidler (Aut) Team Giant-Alpecin

Top 20 General Classification Tour de France after Stage 18

PlaceRider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky74:13:31
2Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team0:03:10
3Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team0:04:09
4Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky0:06:34
5Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo0:06:40
6Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:07:39
7Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:08:04
8Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling0:08:47
9Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing0:12:06
10Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:12:52
11Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin0:13:08
12Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:15:18
13Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar0:16:02
14Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka0:18:06
15Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team0:18:11
16Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr0:39:24
17Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling0:45:40
18Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team0:47:22
19Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:48:55
20Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo0:50:54

Stage 19 is the penultimate mountain stage of the 2015 Tour de France. The stage starts at Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne and finishes at La Touissure 138km later. There are four big mountain climbs, first up the category 1 Col du Chaussy, then the HC Col du Glandon for the second time in the week and the Croix de Fer and then the Col du Mollard and finishing on a summit finish at La Touissure.

Stage 19  Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne / La Toussuire - Les Sybelles 138km
Stage 19 Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne / La Toussuire – Les Sybelles 138km

Tour de France Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here