Rafal Majka (Tinkoff-Saxo) made an impressive debut on the Tour de France last year winning two stages and the polka dot mountains jersey, today Majka made just as an impressive move on the Col du Tourmalet attacking the eight rider beak and soloed to the finish 40km later. Dan Martin (Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team) took a well deserved second place after earlier bridging to the break on the Col d’Aspin.

“I didn’t choose this stage,” said Majka. “I know it is really hard — it’s Tourmalet; it’s no easy stage. I like this weather when it’s warm. I had an important opportunity. … I’m so happy. This victory is for my teammates — Ivan Basso. Now he’s in the home and also Daniele Bennati, who crashed today.”

In the overall GC battle Chris Froome, Tejay van Garderen, Alberto Contador, Nairo Quintana and Robert Gesink all finished in the same bunch so the time gaps remain the same. Vincenzo Nibali has dropped out of the top 10 after losing more time today.

Tomorrow’s stage features four climbs and over 4,500 metres of climbing finishing on the HC Plateau de Beille. Stage profile at the bottom of the page, this stage is one highlighted in the preview as one of the key stages, while the overall seems to be wrapped up we could see big changes in the minor placings.

Stage 11 winner Rafal Majka © ASO P.Perreve
Stage 11 winner Rafal Majka © ASO P.Perreve
Dan Martin finished second
Dan Martin finished second © ASO/B.Bade
Nairo Quintana and Alberto Contador finished in the same group as leader Chris Froome
Nairo Quintana and Alberto Contador finished in the same group as leader Chris Froome © ASO/B.Bade
Tejay van Garderen still holds second overall
Tejay van Garderen still holds second overall © ASO/B.Bade


Top 30 Stage 11 – Pau – Cauterets 184.5km

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result,
1,Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo,5:02:01,
2,Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:01:00,
3,Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Argon 18,0:01:23,
4,Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka,0:02:08,
5,Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar,0:03:34,
6,”Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits”, ,
7,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,0:05:11,
8,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,0:05:19,
9,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,0:05:21,
10,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo, ,
11,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team, ,
12,Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team, ,
13,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team, ,
14,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky, ,
15,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo, ,
16,Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar, ,
17,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal, ,
18,Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling, ,
19,Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Movistar Team,0:05:43,
20,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:05:53,
21,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin, ,
22,Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team,0:06:11,
23,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team, ,
24,Steve Morabito (Swi) FDJ.fr, ,
25,Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:07:13,
26,Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN – Qhubeka, ,
27,José Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team,0:07:50,
28,Michael Rogers (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo, ,
29,Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky,0:09:14,
30,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:13:50,

Top 20 General Classification Tour de France after the Stage 11

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result,
1,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,41:03:31,
2,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,0:02:52,
3,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,0:03:09,
4,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,0:03:59,
5,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,0:04:03,
6,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:04:04,
7,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,0:04:33,
8,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:04:35,
9,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:06:44,
10,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,0:07:05,
11,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,0:07:47,
12,Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling,0:09:26,
13,Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team,0:10:27,
14,Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar,0:13:57,
15,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:16:33,
16,Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:16:38,
17,Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:17:55,
18,Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team,0:19:14,
19,Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha,0:20:42,
20,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:22:07,

Tomorrows Stage 12 is a huge 195km mountain stage starting at Lannemezan featuring four big climbs finishing at the top of the HC Plateau de Beille.

Stage 12 Lannemezan to Plateau de Beille
Stage 12 Lannemezan to Plateau de Beille 195km

Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here