Stage 3 winner Joaquim Rodriguez

In an action packed stage that included the race being neutralised for almost 20 minutes because of a serious crash Joaquim Rodriguez (Team Katusha) held off Chris Froome (Team Sky) to win Stage 3, Chris Froome moves into the overall lead of the race with a dominant performance over his GC rivals on the steep finish of the Mur de Huy. The crash happened with about 60km to go and ended the race for a several riders including Fabian Cancellara who started the day in yellow, and Australian Simon Gerrans who fractured his wrist in the crash. Christian Prudhomme explains why the race needed to be neutralised

This was an exceptional decision due to exceptional circumstances, all our ambulances and medical vehicles were mobilized at the back of the race because of the crashes. The riders at the front would have been without assistance if we had not stopped the peloton.

After the race re-started following the crash it was Team Sky and Team Katusha that that drove the bunch towards the Mur de Huy, Rodriguez accelerated and was never headed although Chris Froome closed the gap down by the finish. By claiming the 6 second bonus for second place Froome took the jersey by 1 second ahead of Tony Martin, importantly Froome gained time on all his GC rivals and leads Tejay Van Garderen (BMC Racing Team) in 3rd place by 11 seconds, Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) in 8th place by 36 seconds, Vincenzo Nibali (Astana Pro Team) 13th place by 1:38 and Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team) in 17th by 1:56. Stage winner Joaquim Rodriguez sits in 18th place, 2 minutes behind Chris Froome.

Chris Froome didn’t expect to be in yellow so early and was full of praise for his Sky teammates.

I didn’t expect to be in yellow this early on. Couldn’t be a better feeling,” said Froome, whose title defense ended when he crashed early in last year’s race. “I may look calm on the outside, but I assure you I’m not. A huge thank you to my teammates. They turned themselves inside out to keep me at the front.

Joaquim Rodriguez won stage 3 from Chris Froome
Joaquim Rodriguez won stage 3 from Chris Froome © ASO
Chris Froome, stage 3 tour de france winner
Chris Froome is the new race leader after Stage 3
Andre Greipel still leads the green jersey competition
Andre Greipel still leads the green jersey competition © ASO


Top 50 – Tour de France General Stage 3

PlaceRider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha3:26:54
2Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky
3Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:04
4Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:00:05
5Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal0:00:08
6Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team0:00:11
7Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team
8Simon Yates (GBr) Orica GreenEdge
9Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
10Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing
11Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team
12Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo0:00:18
13Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek Factory Racing0:00:19
14Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:00:22
15Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team
16Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:24
17Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin
18Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:00:28
19Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step0:00:34
20Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar0:00:36
21Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
22Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN – Qhubeka
23Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar
24Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:00:40
25Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team
26Tony Martin (Ger) Etixx – Quick-Step
27Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo
28Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Séché Environnement0:00:45
29Daniel Navarro (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
30Merhawi Kudus Ghebremedhin (Eri) MTN – Qhubeka
31Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step0:00:52
32Adam Yates (GBr) Orica GreenEdge0:01:00
33Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Team Katusha0:01:05
34Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale0:01:08
35Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team0:01:10
36Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky
37Luis Angel Mate (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
38Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida0:01:13
39Tiago Machado (Por) Team Katusha
40Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing0:01:15
41Paul Voss (Ger) Bora-Argon 180:01:20
42Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:01:22
43Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing0:01:25
44Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Sky
45Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement
46Paul Martens (Ger) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
47Alberto Losada Alguacil (Spa) Team Katusha
48Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo
49Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Etixx – Quick-Step
50Dominik Nerz (Ger) Bora-Argon 18

Tour de France General Classification after Stage 3

PlaceRider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky7:11:37
2Tony Martin (Ger) Etixx – Quick-Step0:00:01
3Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team0:00:13
4Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal0:00:26
5Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team0:00:28
6Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo0:00:31
7Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step0:00:34
8Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo0:00:36
9Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky0:01:03
10Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step0:01:04
11Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin0:01:07
12Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing0:01:32
13Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:01:38
14Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:01:39
15Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo0:01:51
16Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team
17Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team0:01:56
18Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha0:02:00
19Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Etixx – Quick-Step0:02:02
20Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:02:06
21Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:02:07
22Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:02:26
23Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team0:02:39
24Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:02:45
25Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Sky0:02:52
26Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:02:54
27Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr0:02:58
28Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team
29Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team0:03:10
30Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida

Tomorrow’s Stage 4 sees the race enter France with a mini Paris-Roubaix type course featuring pave sectors, if it rains there will be chaos.

Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here