Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing Team) won his first ever Tour de France stage taking an impressive uphill sprint finish from Peter Sagan at Rodez, Van Avermaet made his attack shortly after the remnants of the days break were caught before 200 metres to go. Van Avermaets attack was decisive on the steepest section of the finishing climb and Peter Sagan tried everything to come around but Van Avermaet was too strong and Sagan added another second place to the ever growing tally. Greg Van Avermaet has had his own impressive run of second places in the classics and recounts the the run to the finish.

It was really close,” Greg Van Avermaet said. “I went really early because in Le Havre, I was waiting too long, I think. It was really long, the last 100 meters were keeping on forever. I saw there was someone in my wheel, and I just kept going.”

There was no change at the top of the general classification with Chris Froome, Vincenzo Nibali, Alberto Contador, Tejay Van Garderen and Nairo Quintana all finishing together along with Alejandro Valverde and Robert Gesink. The next big test for the GC riders will be Wednesday’s Stage 17.

Greg Van Avermaet out sprinted Peter Sagan to win Stage 13
Greg Van Avermaet out sprinted Peter Sagan to win Stage 13
Jean-Christophe Peraud had a nasty fall during the stage but made it to the finish
Jean-Christophe Peraud had a nasty fall during the stage but made it to the finish
Movistar Team now lead the team classification
Movistar Team now lead the team classification
Stage 13 photo finish
Stage 13 photo finish


Top 30 Stage 13 – Muret – Rodez 198.5km

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result,
1,Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team,4:43:42,
2,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo, ,
3,Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale,0:00:03,
4,John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:00:07,
5,Paul Martens (Ger) Team LottoNL-Jumbo, ,
6,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky, ,
7,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team, ,
8,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo, ,
9,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team, ,
10,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team, ,
11,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal, ,
12,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team, ,
13,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo, ,
14,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky, ,
15,Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:00:17,
16,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin, ,
17,Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica GreenEdge, ,
18,Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling, ,
19,Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar, ,
20,Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:00:24,
21,Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team,0:00:28,
22,Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement, ,
23,José Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team, ,
24,Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka, ,
25,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, ,
26,Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, ,
27,Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team, ,
28,Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar,0:00:37,
29,Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal, ,
30,Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) MTN – Qhubeka, ,

Top 20 General Classification Tour de France after Stage 13

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result,
1,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,51:34:21,
2,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,0:02:52,
3,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,0:03:09,
4,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,0:03:58,
5,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,0:04:03,
6,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:04:04,
7,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:05:32,
8,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,0:07:32,
9,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,0:07:47,
10,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,0:08:02,
11,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:09:53,
12,Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling,0:12:35,
13,Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team,0:13:14,
14,Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar,0:14:07,
15,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:17:26,
16,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:20:07,
17,Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha,0:23:21,
18,Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team,0:25:36,
19,Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Séché Environnement,0:29:10,
20,Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team,0:29:22,

Tomorrows Stage 14 is a another tough transition stage between Rodez and Mende covering 178.5km, look for the punchy hill sprinters Alejandro Valverde and Joaquim Rodriguez to feature at the finish.

Stage 14 Rodez to Mende 178.5KM
Stage 14 Rodez to Mende 178.5km

Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here