Stage 5 Tour de France winner Andre Greipel

Brief report and results: Andre Greipel powered past his rivals in the sprint finish coming around Alexander Kristoff, Mark Cavendish and Arnaud Demare to take the stage win ahead of Peter Sagan in second with Mark Cavendish holding on for third. Greipel continues to lead the green jersey competition. It was another windy crash ridden stage today with French rider Nacer Bouhanni, New Zealander Jack Bauer withdrawing after crashes. Michael Matthews won most aggressive rider.

The overall lead of the Tour de France is unchanged with all the lead riders finishing safely in the bunch recording the same time as Greipel. Tony Martin leads by 12 seconds from Chris Froome, the rest of the GC favourites remain at the same time gaps as yesterday with Tejay van Garderen, Alberto Contador, Vincenzo Nibali and Nairo Quintana all finishing in the lead group.

Tour de france stage 5 photo finish Andre Greipel
Stage 5 photo finish © A.S.O.
Michael Matthews won most aggressive rider
Michael Matthews won the most aggressive rider today © ASO/P.Perreve
Joaquim Rodriguez leads the King of the Mountains classification
Joaquim Rodriguez leads the King of the Mountains classification © ASO/P.Perreve
Peter Sagan continues to lead best young rider category
Peter Sagan continues to lead best young rider category © ASO/P.Perreve


Tour de France Stage 5

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal,4:39:00
2,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,
3,Mark Cavendish (GBr) Etixx – Quick-Step,
4,Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha,
5,Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) MTN – Qhubeka,
6,John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin,
7,Arnaud Demare (Fra),
8,Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar,
9,Davide Cimolai (Ita) Lampre-Merida,
10,Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team,
11,”Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits”,
12,Zakkari Dempster (Aus) Bora-Argon 18,
13,Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN – Qhubeka,
14,Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling,
15,Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,
16,Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale,
17,Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team,
18,Matthias Brandle (Aut) IAM Cycling,
19,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,
20,Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team,
21,Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling,
22,Tony Martin (Ger) Etixx – Quick-Step,
23,Paul Voss (Ger) Bora-Argon 18,
24,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,
25,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,
26,Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,
27,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,
28,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,
29,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,
30,Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team,
31,Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team,
32,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,
33,Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Séché Environnement,
34,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,
35,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,
36,Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida,
37,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,
38,Mark Renshaw (Aus) Etixx – Quick-Step,
39,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,
40,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,
41,Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,
42,Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,
43,Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha,
44,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo,
45,Dominik Nerz (Ger) Bora-Argon 18,
46,Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) MTN – Qhubeka,
47,Markel Irizar (Spa) Trek Factory Racing,
48,Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step,
49,Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team,
50,Alberto Losada Alguacil (Spa) Team Katusha,
51,Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling,
52,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,
53,Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN – Qhubeka,
54,”Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits”,
55,Grégory Rast (Swi) Trek Factory Racing,
56,Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step,
57,Thibaut Pinot (Fra),
58,Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar,
59,Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,
60,Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,
61,Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra),
62,Jos Van Emden (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,
63,Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Lotto Soudal,
64,Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar,
65,Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra),
66,Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team,0:00:10
67,Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:00:12

Top 20 on General Classification after Stage 5 – Tour de France

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,Tony Martin (Ger) Etixx – Quick-Step,17:19:26
2,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,0:00:12
3,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,0:00:25
4,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:00:33
5,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,0:00:38
6,Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team,0:00:40
7,Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:00:46
8,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:00:48
9,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,0:01:15
10,Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:01:16
11,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:01:19
12,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,0:01:44
13,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,0:01:50
14,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:01:51
15,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:02:03
16,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,
17,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,0:02:08
18,Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha,0:02:12
19,Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:02:19
20,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:02:51

Tomorrow’s Stage 6 starts in Arras and finishes in Le Havre covering 191.5km, the stage finishes on an uphill section that should favour riders like Peter Sagan, Greg Van Avermaet, and Michael Matthews if he’s recovered from injuries.

Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here