André Greipel wins stage 2

Andre Greipel (Lotto Soudal) took an impressive win and an early lead in the Green Jersey Competition winning Stage 2 into Zélande from Peter Sagan (Tinkoff-Saxo) and Fabain Cancellara (Trek Factory Racing). Behind there was a big shakeup with the general classification contenders, Chris Froome, Alberto Contador and Tejay Van Garderen finished safely in the leading group of 24 riders, behind them Nairo Quintana and Vincenzo Nibali lost out in the cross winds losing nearly a minute and a half to Froome.

The peloton split with around 57km to go and also caught on the wrong side of the split was Stage 1 winner, Rohan Dennis. Etixx-Quick had the numbers in the front group and piled the pressure on and increased the gap to the bunch behind to well over a minute, ultimately the effort came to nothing with lead out man Mark Renshaw going too early and Cavendish fading to finish fourth on the stage as Andre Greipel, Peter Sagan and Fabian Cancellara all sprinted past before the finish line.

Fabian Cancellara will wear his 29th yellow jersey into tomorrow’s stage leading Tony Martin by 3 seconds while is advantage Froome and Contador in the GC battle.

Crosswinds Tour de France stage 2
The cross wind played havoc with the peloton – © A.S.O.
Stage 2 Tour de France - North Sea
Stage 2 ran along side the North Sea – © A.S.O.
Tour de France Stage 2 photo finish. Greipel, Sagan, Cancellara
Tour de France Stage 2 photo finish. Andre Greipel, Sagan, Cancellara


Top 20 – Tour de France General Stage 2

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal,3:29:03
2,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,
3,Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing,
4,Mark Cavendish (GBr) Etixx – Quick-Step,
5,Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC Racing Team,
6,Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team,
7,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,
8,Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin,
9,Tony Martin (Ger) Etixx – Quick-Step,
10,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,
11,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,0:00:04
12,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,
13,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,
14,Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step,
15,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,
16,Mark Renshaw (Aus) Etixx – Quick-Step,
17,Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Lotto Soudal,
18,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo,
19,Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team,0:00:08
20,Michael Rogers (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo,

Tour de France General Classification after Stage 2

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing,3:44:01
2,Tony Martin (Ger) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:00:03
3,Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:00:06
4,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:00:33
5,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,0:00:35
6,Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC Racing Team,0:00:42
7,Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step,
8,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,0:00:44
9,Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team,0:00:48
10,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,
11,Michael Rogers (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:00:53
12,Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:00:54
13,André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal,0:00:59
14,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:01:00
15,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,
16,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:01:08
17,Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Lotto Soudal,0:01:12
18,Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing Team,0:01:13
19,Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:01:19
20,Ian Stannard (GBr) Team Sky,0:01:20
21,Mark Cavendish (GBr) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:01:24
22,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:01:25
23,Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team,0:01:26
24,Mark Renshaw (Aus) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:01:48
25,Matthias Brandle (Aut) IAM Cycling,0:01:49
26,Adriano Malori (Ita) Movistar Team,0:01:55
27,Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team,0:01:57
28,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:01:59
29,Alex Dowsett (GBr) Movistar Team,0:02:02
30,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,0:02:03
31,Thibaut Pinot (Fra),0:02:07
32,Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Sky,0:02:09
33,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,
34,John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:02:11
35,Rein Taaramae (Est) Astana Pro Team,
36,Jérémy Roy (Fra),0:02:13
37,Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:02:15
38,Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team,0:02:19
39,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,0:02:22
40,Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team,0:02:23
41,Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:02:25
42,Georg Preidler (Aut) Team Giant-Alpecin,
43,Steve Morabito (Swi),0:02:26
44,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,0:02:27

Tomorrow’s Stage 3 sees the race enter Belgium with a 159.5km stage from Anvers to Mur de Huy.

Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here