Alexis Vuillermoz wins stage 8 tour de france

After a quiet first week for French riders Alexis Vuillermoz won solo on the Mûr-de-Bretagne after attacking shortly after the flamme rouge, Vuillermoz quickly opened up a gap before Dan Martin gave chase but it was too late to make a challenge to Alexis Vuillermoz who crossed the line solo 5 seconds in front of Martin.

Alejandro Valverde led the bunch home holding out Peter Sagan in the sprint for third, Sagan taking enough points for third to move ahead of Andre Geipel in the points classification and also still leads the young rider classification. Daniel Teklehaimanot continues to lead the mountains classification ahead of Joaquim Rodriguez.

Chris Froome was the most aggressive of the GC riders today, pulling back the first attack of Alexis Vuillermoz and Adam Yates, Vincenzo Nibali lost contact with the Froome group and dropped 10 seconds. Tejay Van Garderen still sits in third place only 13 seconds behind Chris Froome and will be looking for a powerful performance from his World Champion Team Time Trial BMC team in the Stage 9 TTT. Alberto Contador and Nairo Quintana finished in the bunch with Froome and maintain the same time gaps as yesterday.

Stage 8 Video Highlights – Rennes – Mûr-de-Bretagne

Summary – Stage 8 (Rennes > Mûr-de-Bretagne… by tourdefrance_en

Stage 8 winner Alexis Vuillermoz
Stage 8 winner Alexis Vuillermoz
Cannondale-Garmin lead the peloton during Stage 8
Cannondale-Garmin lead the peloton during Stage 8
Peter Sagan wearing the green jersey
Peter Sagan now leads the green jersey competition after his 4th place


Stage 8 Top 40 – Rennes – Mûr-de-Bretagne, 181.5 km

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,4:20:55
2,Daniel Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:00:05
3,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,0:00:10
4,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,
5,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,
6,Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team,
7,Adam Yates (GBr) Orica GreenEdge,
8,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,
9,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,
10,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,
11,Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek Factory Racing,
12,Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha,
13,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,
14,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,
15,Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step,
16,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo,
17,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,
18,”Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits”,
19,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,
20,Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar,
21,Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team,
22,Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team,
23,Simon Yates (GBr) Orica GreenEdge,
24,Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,
25,Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling,
26,Paul Martens (Ger) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,
27,Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing,
28,Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka,0:00:20
29,Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing,
30,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,
31,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,
32,Thibaut Pinot (Fra),0:00:25
33,Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale,0:00:31
34,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,
35,Paul Voss (Ger) Bora-Argon 18,0:00:33
36,Dominik Nerz (Ger) Bora-Argon 18,
37,Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar,
38,Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step,
39,Marcel Wyss (Swi) IAM Cycling,
40,Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin,

Top 20 on General Classification after Stage 8 – Tour de France

Place,Rider Name (Country) Team,Result
1,Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky,31:01:56
2,Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:00:11
3,Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team,0:00:13
4,Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal,0:00:26
5,Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team,0:00:28
6,Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:00:34
7,Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:00:36
8,Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Alpecin,0:01:07
9,Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step,0:01:15
10,Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek Factory Racing,0:01:32
11,Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo,0:01:39
12,Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team,0:01:47
13,Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team,0:01:48
14,Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo,0:01:51
15,Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky,0:01:52
16,Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team,0:01:56
17,Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha,0:02:00
18,Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:02:07
19,Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team,0:02:49
20,Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale,0:03:15

Tomorrow’s Stage 9 is a 28km Team Time Trial between Vannes and Plumelec, it’s a tough course for a team time trial featuring three climbs finishing on the Côte de Cadoudal.

Stage 9 Team Time Trial profile
Stage 9 Team Time Trial profile

Stage report by TBL – The Bike Lane


  1. It will interesting to see how sky, bmc and tinkoff-saxo go in the ttt tonight, could see a reshuffle of the top 3.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here